RSS

OK, I Get It Already

12 Oct

The universe is always trying to teach me things. I am not always ready to learn them so it sometimes takes multiple tries. Here are a couple of my recent lessons:

1. Inspiration comes from work.

I’ve spent a lot of time in the past couple of years worrying that I could only be creative when I was manic. It has only been in the last couple of months since I got stable that I decided to do the work even when I didn’t feel particularly inspired. And guess what? Once I put my ass in the seat the muse showed up and I started having all these ideas.

This is both a good thing and a bad thing. Good because the ideas are flowing. Bad because they are not all ideas for my current project. So this is where I have to focus on what I can use right now and put everything else in a little notebook. There are currently four or five novels (series?) Floating around in notebooks. Now I have to put my butt in gear and finish what I’m working on so I can get to everything else before I die. I don’t need for anyone to give me ideas. In fact I prefer you not to.

2. Exercise equals brain power.

I recently started running again. Last May my kids participated in a 5k color run. I had the opportunity to do it too but declined, feeling out of shape and embarrassed. They had a great time and I regretted my decision, so this summer I finally got sick of my excuses and started training.

One unexpected benefit: the exercise makes me better able to keep it together. I really thinks it’s one of the main reasons I’ve been so stable recently. My goal has been to lose 30 lbs and I’ve only lost 3 but I have dropped three pants sizes, so I’ll take it.

I usually dread the running right before I do it, and all the way through it I want to quit, but I don’t. The rest of the day I feel incredible. It quiets my brain so I can focus while at the same time gives me energy to do the work. I’m not saying exercise can replace medication, but it can help.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
