RSS

More whining about writer’s block …

09 Oct

I want to write it, I have the time (if I’m careful) to write it, I have a great idea for it, but I just can’t get started …

Yes, it’s another dreaded post about writer’s block. I thought I had it licked, but no, not happening. I gave myself a deadline of Nov. 1st to get this story done, which should have given me an entire month to write 4000 words. NO prob, right? I think it’s that first 100 words that’s killing me.

Part of me wonders if I should just give up on this one and move on, but I really want something to submit to this anthology. And I really like me idea.

Getting started? Maybe once I do, it will just flow and be done. That’s what happens sometimes. That’s what happened with the last story and that seemed to work out all right.

Ok. Enough whining. Any advice, my writer friends? Or even non-writer friends?

Maybe I just need an all-nighter with a notebook, a pot of coffee, and the kitchen table. Sometimes that works, even if it does freak out the dogs.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2008 in writing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “More whining about writer’s block …

  1. Unfocused Me

    October 13, 2008 at 5:08 am

    Start in the middle.
    Start at the end.
    Start at the beginning, but from the point of view of someone other than your main character.
    Start at the beginning, but make it a different beginning than the one you had envisioned.
    Start by writing only the dialogue.
    Start by writing it without dialogue.
    Start by outlining it.
    Start by diving right in.
    Start start start start start start start start start

    You get the idea. Sit your butt in your chair and don’t get up until you’ve written the first 50 words. Fifty lousy words. You could do that in your sleep. Hell, I’ve knocked out more than 50 words just by commenting to this blog entry.

     
  2. C.E. Grayson

    October 13, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for the advice. I finally cracked the beginning and the format on Friday, and am now almost 1000 words in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
